Reasons to Grow Lavender in Your Garden

Lavender is a beautiful and aromatic perennial plant, which could be a wonderful addition to any garden.
Lavender is native to the Mediterranean and in the Middle Ages it was used as a medicinal plant, as an essence and even in the mummification process in Ancient Egypt.

These plants prefer full sun and a well drained and sandy soil.
Lavender can be used in scents, aromatherapy, decoration, herbal medicine, cooking. It is the most fragrant herb that you could grow in your garden.
Most lavender plants are purple or blue, but you may find also varieties in pink or yellow.

You can plant lavender near the roses, this will prevent the insect attacks.

Lavender is a tolerant plant and there are hundreds of lavender varieties which are planted through the world.

  • Lodden Blue
  • Melissa
  • Sachet
  • Mitchem Gray
  • Royal Velvet
  • Sharon Roberts
  • Dutch Mill
  • Fred Boutin
  • Provence
  • White Spike
  • Seal
  • Hidcote Giant
  • Grosso
  • Dark Eyes
  • Otto Quast
  • Silver Frost

Lavender field1Lavender Fields Provence France Biglavender 266 lavender2

124 thoughts on “Reasons to Grow Lavender in Your Garden

  1. Thanks for liking my post. I adore lavender–a field of it is in the planning. (First we have to build the house.) It’ll look lovely and provide forage for the bees.

  2. I have plans for mass quantities of lavender in my slowly developing micro climate, using collected rain water since I’m in a very arid climate. I love the look and smell of lavender, and ever since I tasted white chocolate with lavender, I also NEED to be cooking with it!

  3. Every year I plant lavender… every year I hope it will return…. sigh… it does not. I think I’ve too much mulch around it! Still… I plant it every year! Love, love, love it!

    • It has been my experience that most of the English varieties have survived freezing temps planted in the ground here in Virginia…we had several nights of 18 and 19 degree temps. Growing Munstead or Hidcote in the greenhouse in good well-drained soil [in pots, I assume] should work. I also assume you have some type of heat in the greenhouse to keep temps well above freezing?? Provence lavender [French variety] also easily survived the freezes.

Leave a Reply

