The Breathtaking Buda Castle District

Budapest is considered to be one of the most beautiful capitals in the world.
The capital is know for its museums, galleries, the large Parliament building, the Chain Bridge, thermal baths, the first underground railway in Europe, the Heroes’ Square, the Gellért Hill and the Buda Castle.
It is one of my favorite cities and as a Hungarian native, I always enjoy visiting this amazing city.

If I should pick my favorite place in Budapest, it would be definitely the Castle District.
You will have the most breathtaking view over the Danube, the Chain Bridge, the Parliament and the Pest side of the city.

The Buda Castle District is a UNESCO World Heritage Site and has so much to offer.
The Buda Castle District has plenty must-see attractions: cobblestone streets, Baroque houses, Gothic arches, the Trinity Square (Szentháromság tér), the Fishermen’s Bastion (Halászbástya), the Matthias Church (Mátyás templom), the Royal Palace (Királyi Palota) and the Labyrinth (Budavári Labirintus).
The Royal Garden Pavilion (Várkert-bazár) was built between 1875 and 1882, and designed by the famous Hungarian architect, Miklós Ybl.

Now let’s visit Budapest!

Buda Castle DistrictBuda Castle DistrictBuda Castle DistrictBuda Castle DistrictBuda Castle DistrictBuda Castle DistrictBuda Castle DistrictBuda Castle District

14 thoughts on “The Breathtaking Buda Castle District

  1. My family is from Hungary, and I loved Budapest the two times that I’ve visited. The fisherman’s bastion is really my favorite place. Now if only I still remembered how to speak the language well! I’d love to live there someday. Great photos.

  2. It looks very beautiful. The parliament building on the bank of the river looks quite similar in style to The Palace of Westminster (houses of parliament) here in England. It has a mix of Gothic and Classical architecture too.

    Thanks for the visit!

  3. What a lovely city! I had a dear Hungarian friend, now gone, who spoke of it often. Now I see why. Thank you also for your visit to my blog, and for liking my photographic “walk” through Marquand Park. Mine is mainly a written blog without photos, but you’re welcome to come again, anytime! I look forward to exploring more of yours.

  4. Thanks for the reminder! I went around a decade a go a couple of times, and this jogged my memory…..now I shall have to dig some slides out!

Leave a Reply

