5 Tips to Become a Better Gardener

You can’t garden and you always kill your plants?
Well, I think you might need some advice.

I do not consider myself the best gardener in the world, but my opinion is that I have the qualities which could help me to become a better gardener.

1.Experience
There is no way to wake up one day knowing exactly what to do and how to grow your plants. You will learn gardening by doing it.

2.Selection
Try to select those plants which are easy to grow and give them the needed conditions, like soil and enough light.

3.Observation
A good gardener must be a great observer.
The more time you spend in the garden, the more things you will observe. It is recommended to walk through the garden at least once a week, so that you will be able to observe the insects and diseases.

4.Consistency
Many people forget that all plants need regular care. You can’t expect to have a beautiful and unique garden without doing something for it. It is recommended to work in your garden on a regular basis.
Do not forget to water your plants! It is recommended to water them in the early morning.

5.Patience
In the real world gardeners tend to kill plants and plants get diseases and pests. You don’t have to commit suicide, you only have to be patient and learn from your mistakes.
Don’t be afraid of gardening!

Are you a good gardener?

GardenGardenGarden

50 thoughts on “5 Tips to Become a Better Gardener

  1. Great tips and beautiful photos! I’ve been checking on my small garden every day, but haven’t observed much of a change yet. Still trying to figure out how to tell when they need water, but I’m hopeful that my gardening skills will develop with practice 🙂

  2. Green fingers would help!!! I am to gardening what sunshine is to snow 😦

    Fantastic blog though I can now feel a little hope rising maybe I just need to take your advice and dig a little deeper (no pun intended!), to unleash the gardener in me? I live in hope 🙂

  3. Number 5 is spot on! When I was younger, most of the plants I touched died on me. I would joke about my black thumb. But every gardener kills plants! Green thumbs are just as murderous! 🙂 I’ve learned to forgive my killings and learn from them. I grow a lot more than I kill, and I’m happy with that!

  4. Pingback: 5 Tips to Become a Better Gardener | My Own Plot

  5. Great post and lovely garden areas. You are right about consistency, my spouse and I have committed to spending a minimum of 1/2 each day for the rest of the season. If we miss a day, we make it up the next day. We are very mindful of water use so rarely use the hose, instead we spot water as needed, so the 1/2 hour is not always enough. We also integrate flowers with food, so it is kind of pretty (I think) but also very integrated, I will be posting pics soon, so hope you will be able to come and visit.

  6. Thanks for the post! I’m a new gardener and so much of what I am doing now just feels like finding the confidence to try it out. I started my garden with the idea of experimenting and learning from the experience… but it is daunting to think about not getting a return from the hard work. Finger crossed for a good growing season!

  7. Glorious photos! Great common sense tips. You are a TERRIFIC gardener. Give yourself a pat on the back and enjoy your expertise. Loved this.
    Cynthia
    The Goddess Gardener

  8. Your beautiful pictures bring back memories of my trips to the UK. I live in Texas and it’s hard to grow such beautiful borders even though we have two growing seasons. June is hot, July is hotter, and August is just hell. Every thing burns up and we have to use soaker hoses just to keep things alive.

  9. What an enchanting garden! Thank you for stopping by The Enchanted Blog. Gardening is a great way to de-stress, as well as looking at the beautiful photos of your garden.

Leave a Reply

