Let’s Grow Snapdragons

Snapdragons always remind me of my childhood.
I love these amazing and pretty flowers. I was happy to play with snapdragons and to make the “dragon mouth” open and close. I even managed to scare a few children with them :-).

Snapdragons (Antirrhinum majus) originated from the Mediterranean region. It is said that they could offer protection from witchcraft and could even restore youth and beauty to women.
They are quite easy to grow. Snapdragons need to be planted in full sun or partial shade. They prefer a well-drained soil and you could even add organic matter, so that your snapdragons will stay healthy. Snapdragons can be propagated from cuttings of from seeds. I always propagate snapdragons from seed. The seeds are really small, but they germinate quite easy. You can sow the seeds in the spring.
Snapdragons are beautiful perennial flowers, which are deer resistant. My amazing snapdragons bloom in spring, but also in fall. The only thing I have to do is to water them regularly, in order to keep them alive and healthy.

Snapdragons come in a variety of colors: white, yellow, orange, pink, red, lavender or they might be even bi-colored. These beautiful flowers are perfect for borders, but also work well in containers.
Snapdragons will add color to any garden and they are also excellent cut flowers.

These colored flowers will attract butterflies and bees to your garden.

SnapdragonsSnapdragonSnapdragonsSnapdragons

14 thoughts on “Let’s Grow Snapdragons

  1. I haven’t tried these yet but now that I read this I think I will I’ll find a place for them somewhere in my yard!

  2. snaps where a childhood favorite and still are. my first memory of a greenhouse was walking into my grandfathers cut flower greenhouse filled with snaps towering four feet over my four foot high body. and the smell was entoxicatingly thrilling and set my course to be a greenhouse grower.

  3. I planted some for the first time this year and they really do attract the butterflies and bees. It’s wonderful to watch creature enjoy something you have nurtured from seed. Makes it all wholly worthwhile 🙂

Leave a Reply

