How To Grow Marigolds

Marigolds are also known as Tagetes and they are beautiful garden plants.
Marigolds are very easy to grow and to care for. These little plants were discovered in Central and South America and start to bloom from summer to late fall.

Marigolds prefer a well-drained soil and full sun.
These lovely plants can be propagated by seeds. You should plant the seeds in seedbeds, flats, peat pots or clay pots. Do not forget to keep the soil warm and moist. The seeds will germinate easily, within a few days. Small marigolds should be planted 1 foot apart and tall marigolds about 2-3 feet apart.
Do not forget to water marigolds regularly, but do not overwater them! The good news is that you do not need to fertilize marigolds.

There are many varieties of Marigolds: African Marigolds, French Marigolds, Triploids and Signet Marigolds.
• African Marigolds (Tagetes erecta) bloom from late summer to fall and the flowers are yellow or orange. They can reach heights of 12 to 14 inches.
• French Marigolds (Tagetes patula) have large flowers or small flowers in yellow, orange or gold. They can reach heights of 12 to inches.
• Triploids are hybrid (Tagetes erecta x Tagetes patula) and have bicolored flowers, which bloom during hot weather.
• Signet Marigolds (Tagetes tenuifolia pumila) have daisy-like blooms.

Many people believe that marigolds have a distasteful scent.
My marigolds have a very interesting and distinctive scent. Marigolds contain a substance called turpene. Some marigold oils are even used in the manufacture of perfumes.

Let’s grow marigolds!

MarigoldMarigoldMarigoldMarigoldMarigold

22 thoughts on “How To Grow Marigolds

  1. I love marigolds, not only for their beautiful blooms, but their pest deterrent qualities. I always plant them around my tomatoes to keep the more voracious insects at bay.

    • I was wondering whether the plants self sow because of all of the wild ones growing in my new garden. I had always been under the assumption that they were annuals. Now I know differently…thanks!

      • Yes they do self sow and I like gathering the spent flowers and allowing the pods to dry out completely and then store them for spring time when I will sprinkle them wherever I want a patch of yellow. They’re very rewarding. Thank you for visiting and stopping to comment. Take care 🙂 Linda

  2. They are lovely. When I was in Bali, marigolds were everywhere. I was told by our local guide that they rub marigold on their skin and use it as a mosquito and pest deterrent .

    • I would recommend you french marigolds or mexican marigolds. French marigolds are good against whiteflies and mexican marigolds repel insects and rabbits :-). And french marigolds also kill bad nematodes!

      • Thanks for the tip! I am having a hard time with whiteflies on my tomato plant. Luckily, there are dozens of wild marigolds in my recently inhereted mess of a garden. I think I will dig some up and plant them in the tubs with the tomatoes on the balcony and see if they help.

  3. I have come to like marigolds. I like them as companion plants with my tomatoes. The ones I currently have were bought at the farmers’ market. And actually I bought a packet of seeds last night and hope to plant them for autumn blooming before frost comes.

    Gorgeous photos. Of the various marigolds, I like the ones featured on this post.

  4. thank you for these tips! i need to plant some marigolds soon as my garden is infested with mosquito’s.. would love to be able to go outside again without having to resort to chemicals! Now I’m looking forward to planting them!

Leave a Reply

